Congrats to Upstate SCTA Award Winners

Carly Stelling, Manny Houston and Will Ragland in SC Children’s Theatre’s 2018 “Shrek.”

The Theatre of Distinction Award goes to South Carolina Children’s Theatre, the Theatre Advocacy Award goes to Bert Wakeley and the 2018 Lifetime Service Award goes to Jimm Cox, formerly of USC Upstate.

Chad Henderson of the Trustus Theatre will receive the Founders Award, the 2018 Outstanding Theatre Educator Award goes to Sandra Dietel of Blythewood High School, and Martha Kelly Hearn of Ridge View High School will receive the 2018 Deborah Smith Hoffman Outstanding Mentor Teacher Award.

The SCTA Awards Gala will be held Saturday, May 18 at 7-11 p.m. at the Birch Ballroom (Residence Inn/Spring Hill Suites). Tickets are $40 and available at

Related Articles